Eastern Africa News Network

University of Dar-Es-Salaam Starts Exporting Kiswahili To Ethiopia

The ancient Addis Ababa University in Ethiopia has entered into a Five-year partnership with the University of Dar-es-Salaam in Tanzania, so that the latter gets to conduct Kiswahili language training sessions at the former.

Under this arrangement, the Addis Ababa University of Ethiopia starts offering the Bachelor of Arts and Masters of Arts in Kiswahili language at its main campus.

The Addis Ababa University is a national university located in the Ethiopian Capital City.

AAU is the oldest University in Ethiopia, operating a total of thirteen campuses.

The twelve campuses of Addis Ababa University are located within the Ethiopian Capital City.

The remaining one Campus is based in Bishoftu, a town located nearly 50 Kilometers away from Addis Ababa.

Bishoftu is the urban center for East Shewa Zone in the Oromia Region, formerly known as Debre Zeyit. However since the late 1990s it has been officially known by the Oromo name, Bishoftu,

Addis Ababa University (AAU) was established in 1950 as the University College of Addis Ababa (UCAA).

The Ethiopian Institution of Higher Education remains the largest in the country as well as being the oldest such facility offering tertiary education as well as conducting academic research works.

Since its inception, over 72 years ago, the University has been the leading center in teaching-learning, research and community services in Ethiopia.

Located in the country’s commercial capital, the University of Dar es Salaam, on the other hand, is a public university in Tanzania established in 1961.

Abbreviated as UDSM the institution of higher learning started out as an affiliate college of the University of London.

University of Dar-es-Salaam (Tanzania Times)

Two years later, in 1963, that is shortly after Tanganyika gained its independence from the United Kingdom, the University of Dar-es-Salaam would become an affiliate University of East Africa.

But seven years later, in 1970, the University of East Africa split into three independent institutions of higher learning, branching into the Makerere University in Uganda, the University of Nairobi in Kenya, and the University of Dar es Salaam.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.