The Times of Tanzania
Eastern Africa News Network, Breaking News Tanzania

Tanzanian President wins Africa Road Builders-Babacar Ndiaye Trophy

President Samia Suluhu Hassan has been named the 2022 winner of the Africa Road Builders–Babacar Ndiaye Trophy.

The prize is awarded to leading figures in Africa who have demonstrated their commitment to the development of transport infrastructure on the continent.

The selection committee for the award commended the Tanzanian Head of State for what was described as her personal leadership, huge investments and commitment in extending roads and the railway network in the country.

“We send our warm congratulations to President Samia Hassan and the people of Tanzania,” the selection committee said.

The committee noted the USD 290 million provided by the African Development Bank to support the revitalization of road, rail and air transport in Tanzania.

It also took into account the USD172.2 million contract signed with the China Corporation Limited to supply the country with 1,430 modern freight wagons to implement the ambitious Tanzania Railways Corporation railway program.

The Giraffe, a National Symbol for Tanzania standing on tarmac road. The country has most of its roads paved.

Finally, the committee noted the official start of construction on the historic project to build an outer ring road around the city of Dodoma.

This project was launched by the Tanzania President, Hassan on 11 February, in the presence of the President of the African Development Bank Group, Dr. Akinwumi Adesina.

Currently the only female head of state in Africa, Hassan came to power in March 2021, following the death of President John Magufuli, under whom she served as Vice-President.

Sponsored by the African Development Bank’s Adesina, the Africa Road Builders Babacar Ndiaye Trophy is organized by Acturoutes, an information platform on infrastructure and roads in Africa, and the organization Media for Infrastructure and Finance in Africa.

MIFA is a network of African journalists specializing in road infrastructure. Nigerian President Muhammadu Buhari received the award in 2021.

The trophy was instituted in honor of Babacar Ndiaye, President of the African Development Bank Group from 1985 to 1995.

The 2022 trophy will be awarded at the final conference of the Africa Road Builders, which is scheduled to take place alongside the African Development Bank’s next Annual Meetings in May in Accra, Ghana.

You might also like

Comments are closed.