The Tanzania Times
Eastern Africa News Network

United States of East Africa? Work for the Confederation Constitution Starts

The maiden constitution for the Confederation of East African Countries is being drafted.

Political Confederation, or the alliance of East African Countries, was adopted as a Transitional Model of the anticipated East African Political Federation.

And who is writing the rule book for the first step towards the forthcoming ‘United States of East Africa?’

Amos Wako, the former Kenyan Attorney General is among the panel of experts writing the draft East African Federation Constitution.

Also working for the maiden constitution of East African Confederation is Justice Benjamin Josses Odoki, who was the tenth Chief Justice of Uganda serving between 2001 and 2013.

Dr Joses Odoki is also the chairperson of the Constitutional Experts drafting the Constitution for the EAC Political Confederation.

And then there is the Rapporteur, Dr Idd Ramadhani Mandi who is a lecturer in the Department of Public Law at the University of Dar-es-Salaam.

The working of the draft constitution for the East African Community’s political confederation seems to have been under wraps, with few people knowing anything about the process.

That is until the team of Constitutional Experts paid a courtesy call on the East African Community’s Secretary General Dr Peter Mathuki at the EAC Headquarters in Arusha, Tanzania.

During their meeting, they deliberated on the Roadmap for the drafting of the said East African Confederation Constitution.

The team also divulged plans for the upcoming public consultations set to be undertaken in three EAC partner states of Kenya, Rwanda and Tanzania.

Now, the Political Confederation was adopted as a Transitional Model of the anticipated East African Political Federation. It is from this document that the foundation laws for the future of united East Africa get hatched.

So far the East African Community is made up of seven member states. These include the founding three, Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania.

Other EAC member countries are Rwanda, Burundi, South-Sudan and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Somalia is meanwhile also waiting in the wings and likely to join the block anytime soon.

RELATED: Somalia to soon join EAC

You might also like

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.