The Tanzania Times
Eastern Africa News Network

Deputy Prime Minister Post returns to Tanzania after three decades

President Samia Suluhu has just created the new position of Deputy Prime Minister.

And the person now filling the inaugural docket is Dotto Biteko, the former Minister of Minerals.

Biteko is wearing two hats as he also serves as the new Minister of Energy.

The Deputy Prime Minister Position existed briefly in 1994 then held by Augustino Mrema, the Local Government Minister during President Ali Hassan Mwinyi’s presidency.

Mrema was later relieved of the position in 1995 and shortly after defected from the ruling party to join the opposition.

He later tried his luck is running the presidency during the 1995 General Elections via the NCCR-Mageuzi party, but ended up losing to Benjamin William Mkapa of CCM.

Now Mr Biteko gets the same position nearly 30 years later. He will work with the Prime Minister Kassim Majaliwa.

Dotto Biteko

Former Minister of Energy, January Makamba has been shifted to head the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and East African Cooperation.

Stergomena Tax, who used to serve the Foreign Affairs Dockets returns back to her previous position as the Minister of Defence.

The Head of State also split the Ministry of Works and Transport into two dockets, the Ministry of Works and the Ministry of Transport.

Prof Makame Mbarawa is now in charge of the Ministry of Transport.

On the other hand Innocent Bashugwa, the former defence Minister gets the Ministry of Works.

Anthony Mavunde, the former Deputy Minister of Agriculture now serves as the Minister of Minerals.

Angela Jasmin Kairuki is the new Minister of Natural Resources and Tourism.

They have swapped positions with Mohammed Mchengerwa who now moves into her former Ministry in the President’s Office Regional Administration and Local Government.

Also swapping positions are Dr Damas Ndumbaro, the former Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs who now moves into Sports docket and Dr Pindi Chana the former Minister of Arts, Sports and Culture getting the Justice office.

During the minor cabinet reshuffle in Tanzania, five other Deputy Ministers and three Permanent Secretaries were also named.

You might also like

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.