General Elections in Kenya: Media lags Behind Updating Voting Results

Mainstream media outlets in Kenya are being accused of dragging their feet in updating voting results from poll stations.

There are 46,000 voting centers across the country where millions of Kenyans have been casting ballots since the polls kicked off on August 9, 2022.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) portal has been recording results for millions of cast votes, while Kenya’s media outlets still tally less than 500,000 votes during the voting day.

According to the IEBC nearly 13 million voters had cast their ballots by the time the sun set on the 9th Day of August 2022.

That accounts for almost 57 percent of the 22,120,458 people that have been registered to vote in the General Election.

Voters’ turn up was highest in Nairobi and Nyanza regions both at 80 Percent.

Western (78), Coast (77), Eastern (63), and Rift Valley (62) also tallied in top-five as far as voting numbers’ percentage is concerned.

Among these two candidates emerges the new President of Kenya

As for the Media’s tortoise pace in updating their tallies, it was explained that authorities required them to first verify results before either airing or publishing them.

Kenya’s Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission reports that, gubernatorial races for Mombasa and Kakamega will now have to wait until August 23 due to unprecedented ballot paper mix-up.

Many Kenyans in the Diasporas voted at their High Commission offices.

In Kisumu a man who turned up to vote in wrapped in towel also turned heads in the process.

A few hilarious episodes also ensued, alongside social media cooked biased election results each favoring a certain candidate.

The President of Tanzania, Samia Suluhu Hassan was among the first heads of states to with Kenyans peaceful elections.

Former Tanzanian President, Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete, on the other hand, is leading the East African Community’s Observer Mission to the polls.

On top of the running race, there are two politicians, Raila Odinga and William Ruto each pedaling out to succeed President Uhuru Kenyatta who completes his ten-year tenure in office.