Country Marks Pivotal Milestone, As Journey From Tanganyika to Tanzania Hits 60

Tanzanians are celebrating their Nation’s 60th Anniversary of Independence.

During its time as Tanganyika, the country attained its freedom from the British on the 9th of December 1961.

Previously, the precinct was under Germany rule, then known as German East Africa.

German East Africa

At Independence the ruling party was Tanganyika African National Union (TANU). Across the border, there was the Kenya African National Union (KANU).

The Late Prince Philip graced the Tanganyika Independence in 1961

Though the independence of Tanganyika was a countrywide effort only a few people were given credit for the feat.

Freedom and After

Around this time, next year 2022, the country will then be observing another 60th milestone of since it became a republic, under the Tanganyika title.

Next August 2022 Tanzania will be conducting a natiowide, Population and Housing Census. At the moment is estimated that, the country has 60 million people.

During Independence, in 1961, the country, then called Tanganyika had only 8 million people. This means, at least 50 million residents were born after Independence.

In last six decades, the country has since undergone six phases of presidential leadership.

Phase 1: Julius Kambarage Nyerere (1962 – November 1985). The longest serving, with a record of 23 years in office. Started out as Prime Minister after independence.

Phase 2: Ali Hassan Mwinyi (November 1985 – October 1995), steered the country into the democratic, multiparty rule in 1992.

Phase 3: Benjamin William Mkapa (November 1995 – December 2005). Credited for transforming Tanzania’s economy for the better.

Phase 4: Jakaya Mrisho Kikwete (December 2005 – November 2015). Infrastructural development was realized under his tenure.

Phase 5: John Pombe Magufuli (November 2015 – March 2021) Unfortunately he became the first head of state to die in office.

Phase 6: Samia Suluhu Hassan (March 2021 – Incumbent). She is the first female president since Independence.

Some notable events in the journey from Tanganyika to Tanzania

1961 – Tanganyika Independence

1962– Republic of Tanganyika formed

1964 – Tanganyika merges with Zanzibar Islands to create the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar (April), which became Tanzania later in October.

1967 – President Nyerere introduced African Socialism (Ujamaa) amid mixed reactions.

1972 – Assassination of Zanzibar President, Abeid Amani Karume in Stone Town.


1977– Mainland ruling party TANU was merged with Isles’ Afro-Shiraz to form the Chama Cha Mapinduzi party.

1978 – 1979 – War with Uganda (Or at least against Idd Amin’s army)

1984 – (April) Prime Minister Edward Moringe Sokoine killed in Road Crash

1999 – Founding President, Mwalimu Nyerere dies at London’d Saint Thomas Hospital in October.

2001 – (July) Vice President Omar Ali Juma dies in Dar-es-Salaam. He is replaced by Ali Mohammed Shein.

2007 – Tanzania produces the first Deputy Secretary General to the United Nations in the person of Asha-Rose Migiro, the former foreign Minister.