The Tanzania Times
Eastern Africa News Network

Arusha City Hosts CAF Ordinary General Assembly, August 2022

Tanzania’s Northern City of Arusha has been chosen to host the 44th Ordinary General Assembly for the Confederation of African Football Associations (CAF).

Official report from the Confédération Africaine de Football confirms that Tanzania will be hosting the 44th CAF Ordinary General Assembly on Wednesday, 10 August 2022.

While the venue is yet to be announced, but the forthcoming 44th CAF General Assembly is going to take place in the Tanzania’s Tourism Capital of Arusha.

It will be a one-day event starting at 11.00 am, local East African time, or 08h00 GMT.

Venues that can possibly host the CAF meeting, include the Arusha International Conference Center, the Mount Meru or the Gran Melia Hotel as well as the Lush Gardens.

A statement from CAF is to the effect that more communication and further details on the Ordinary General Assembly will continue to be released to the media in due course.

The 43rd CAF General Assembly took place in Rabat, Morocco on Friday, March 12th, 2021.

About CAF

CAF is the governing body of African football and was founded in 1957.

Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa are the body’s founding members.

The Soccer Federation has a membership of 54 Member Associations, with its secretariat based in Egypt.

Confédération Africaine de Football

During the 1954 International Federation of Association Football Congress held in Berne, Switzerland, it was voted to recognize Africa as a Confederation.

That allowed Africa the right to appoint the continent’s first representative to the FIFA Executive Committee and this person became Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem, of Egypt.

However the process towards the formation of CAF was hatched far away from the continent.

In fact the confederation of African Football Associations was essentially initiated in Lisbon, Portugal in June 1956.

The Portuguese capital was playing host to the FIFA Congress, and four African countries that is Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa, were in attendance.

The four nations decided to use the occassion in discussing what they deemed to be matters of common interest.

As a follow-up to the FIFA Congress in Lisbon, the four nations resolved to convene again in Khartoum, Sudan, in February 1957 to draft statutes and to discuss the staging of the first Africa Cup of Nations.

That second milestone gathering was held on 8 February 1957 at the Grand Hotel in Khartoum and confirmed the official establishment of CAF

It was after the adoption of the statutes, Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem of Egypt was unanimously chosen as president, becoming the first president in the history of the confederation.

Later, on 10 February 1957, after the maiden CAF General Assembly, the Sudanese capital witnessed the birth of the Africa Cup of Nations which was won by Egypt.

CAF Presidents

  • Abdel Aziz Abdallah Salem (Egypt): 1957 – 1958
  • Abdel Aziz Mostafa (Egypt): 1958 – 1968
  • Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan): 1968 – 1972
  • Ydnekatchew Tessema (Ethiopia): 1972 – 1987
  • Abdel Halim Mohamed (Sudan): 1987 – 1988
  • Issa Hayatou: (Cameroon): 1988 – 2017
  • Ahmad Ahmad: (Madagascar: 2017 – 2021
  • Patrice Motsepe: (South Africa) 2021 – todate
You might also like

Comments are closed.